Do You Doodle?

 

When you were in school taking notes from your teachers lecture, did you doodle on your paper? I know I did and I think most of us did. I don’t envy students today that take notes on their laptops, its harder to doodle and write at the same time like we did “back in the day”.

What about now? Have you doodled lately? How about on your shopping list or your to-do list? Well, why not?

  • Doodling is fun!
  • Doodling is relaxing!
  • Doodling is meditative!
  • Doodling is good hand eye-coordination exercise!
  • Doodling is therapeutic!
  • Doodling is creative!
  • Doodling is soothing!
  • Doodling is beneficial in many ways!
  • Doodling takes you away!

Convinced yet? Give it a try and find out what I’m writing about. I think you’ll like it!  Let me be your guide.  You’ll need a small piece of paper, a pencil and a pen.

If you haven’t done any doodling in a while, you may find a blank piece of paper a little intimidating. That’s why I want you to start with a small piece of paper, business card, book-marker or index card sized. Now using your pencil, put a dot in each corner then connect the dots with lines.  Don’t worry if they’re straight or not, you’re just doodling.  Now that you have a limited area to work with, is it less intimidating? Scribble a simple line or lines around in your framed area and you’re ready to get started.

Next, pick up a pen (leave that pencil alone now, no cheating) and get started. Use your pencil scribble as a guide and fill in the area’s you discover with cross-hatched lines, grids, dots, spirals, boxes, basket weave, spikes, swirls, and anything else you can imagine. Do you have a favorite way to doodle?

I’d like to give a shout-out here to Zentangle.com for the idea of framing in an area and using a scribble as a guide.  If you enjoy doodling you should check out their site, they have some amazing ideas for more doodling which you can in find in their  kits.

Here are some of my doodles for you to see how its done.  Don’t try to copy mine, just look at them to get the idea and go do your own thing.  Enjoy!

red doodle

purple doodle

black doodle

brown doodle

Watch this video put out by Jerry’s Artarama (an art supply store)  more information.

3 Comments

    • Was my post too long? Seriously, did you get bored with all the writing? I’m new at blogging, so I love all comments and advice. But…
      I mentioned Zen Tangles in my 2nd to last paragraph-
      “I’d like to give a shout-out here to Zentangle.com for the idea of framing in an area and using a scribble as a guide. If you enjoy doodling you should check out their site, they have some amazing ideas for more doodling which you can in find in their kits.”

      Like

Leave a Reply

